This is an old revision of the document!


Klaus Welle, Secretary-General of the European Parliament

Klaus Welle, Secretary-General of the European Parliament
Transformation of Language Services in the European Parliament

Thursday, July 9, at 9:00 PST / 12:00 EST / 18:00 CEST / 22:30 CST/HKT, 23:30 JST

Abstract

The directly elected European Parliament is the biggest employer of interpreters and translators in the world, and has undertaken perhaps the broadest and most ambitious experiment in the world to enable dialogue among a large union of countries, despite and across language and cultural barriers. Most of these efforts are currently undertaken by human effort and have shown that multilingualism, mutual understanding and communication is indeed possible across language boundaries and that it is possible to create true dialog and debate while maintaining cultural and linguistic diversity. Secretary-General Klaus Welle, head of the Parliament's administration, presides over this effort and is spearheading one of the most ambitious efforts to complement human effort with the power of modern AI technology to bring a broader array of language services to Europe’s citizenry. The keynote will provide a unique opportunity for discussion and inspiration to the community of ACL and IWSLT technologists.