13-14 July, 2023 - Toronto

The International Conference on Spoken Language Translation (IWSLT) is an annual scientific conference, associated with an open evaluation campaign on spoken language translation, where both scientific papers and system descriptions are presented.

The 20th edition of IWSLT will be co-located with ACL 2023 in Toronto, Canada on 13-14 July, 2023, and run as a hybrid event.

Shared Tasks

The IWSLT 2023 Evaluation Campaign will host shared tasks featuring the following focus areas:

Data, metrics, and evaluation will be provided by the conference organizers.
All tasks will follow the same important dates.


Please register for the Evaluation Campaign via the registration form.

Please join the IWSLT Evaluation Campaign google group for periodic updates, community questions and opportunities to receive sponsored cloud computing credits.

Paper Submission

Submissions should be scientific papers or system papers. All papers may consist of 4 to 8 pages of content with additional pages of references, formatted using the ACL stylesheets. Upon acceptance, all papers will be given one (1) additional content page to address reviewers’ comments. Accepted papers will be published in the ACL 2023 proceedings and will be presented at the IWSLT conference either orally or as a poster.

Please submit scientific papers and system papers through the submission portal.


  • Scientific papers must be anonymized for submission, while system description papers do not need to be.
  • We accept submissions which have previously been made available as technical reports or preprints, e.g. on arXiv.
  • We will not accept scientific papers for publication that overlap significantly in content or results with papers published elsewhere.
  • Scientific papers which have been, or plan to be, submitted to other venues must be declared as such at the time of submission, and must be withdrawn from the other venues if accepted and published at IWSLT 2023.
  • Scientific papers whose first author is a student will be eligible for the IWSLT 2023 Best Student Paper Award (authors should note eligibility in the paper submission form).

Important Dates


Jan 14, 2023 Release of shared task training and dev data
Apr 1-15, 2023 Evaluation period
Apr 24, 2023 Paper submission deadline (all papers)
Apr 30, 2023 System papers update deadline
May 22, 2023 Notification of acceptance
May 31, 2023 Camera ready paper due
July 12, 2023 Pre-recorded video due
July 13-14, 2023 IWSLT conference

Note: All deadlines are 11:59PM UTC-12:00.


  • Marcello Federico, AWS AI Labs, USA (Conference Chair)
  • Alex Waibel, CMU, USA (Conference Chair)
  • Jan Niehues, KIT, Germany (Evaluation Chair)
  • Sebastian Stüker, KIT, Germany (Sponsorship Chair)
  • Elizabeth Salesky, JHU, USA (Publication and Website Chair)
  • Atul Kr. Ojha, University of Galway, Ireland (Publicity Chair)

Sponsorship Opportunities

IWSLT welcomes sponsorships!